Sunday brunch

I can’t believe it’s been so long!  What have I been doing I hear you ask? Oh, you know, I’ve just been busy.  Busy working in my day job, mothering, wifeing, being the household administrator and all that other stuff that gets in the way.  I know I need to blog more often, because it’s fun and I cook lots of interesting stuff.

Rrecently I made kimchi, and a sourdough starter, and sourdough crackers and pretzel fingers.  But I haven’t taken any photos.  Of any of it.  I also made an eyeball cake for Halloween.  Lucky for you I did take a photo of this one…scroll down to the end…

It’s interesting to look at the most popular recipes on my blog, because I want to understand why visitors to come to my blog, even when I’m not blogging regularly – I would like to think it’s for my personality, but I would be WRONG…it’s for chocolate.  Chocolate recipes of all kinds.  So I’ve decided to post my huevos rancheros recipe.

Enjoy.  This recipe is enough for 2, but you can double it, halve it, do whatever you want really to make it yours.

Huevos Rancheros MY Way

GUACAMOLE INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 mashed large ripe avocado
  • ¼ finely chopped red onion
  • Half finely chopped tomato
  • 1-2 tbs salsa
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 tbs lime juice (according to taste)
  • 2 tbs chopped coriander

BEANS INGREDIENTS:

  • 400g can beans (I like borlotti but any kind is okay) – ½ mashed and the rest left whole
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • ¾ cup grated cheese
  • ½ cup salsa
  • ¼ finely chopped red onion
  • Hot sauce (according to taste)

MISC INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 tortilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp oil
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • Extra salsa
  • Extra sour cream

I feel it’s my duty to teach people how to test if an avocado is ripe.  Do NOT squeeze the avocado, because that bruises the fruit – just press on the stem gently – if it’s ripe it will be soft.

So first you want to get the beans ready.  This bit is very easy, just turn the oven onto 180C (conventional) and stir everything together in an oven safe pan.  Throw it in and cook it until it browns slightly on top (about 15 minutes).

IMG_0727

While this is happening mash up the avocado and add the onion, tomato, salsa, salt, lime and coriander and mix well together.  I like to squirt the lime juice over the salt to melt it a bit so it distributes more evenly through the guac.  Sorry about the use of slang here.  My husband always looks at me like I’m speaking a foreign language when I say ‘guac’, but I just can’t help myself.

IMG_0751
IMG_0728
Now you can start putting it all together.  Heat ½ tsp oil (you only need a really thin coating of oil on your frypan) over a moderate heat, add a little salt and then add your first tortilla.  It doesn’t need very long on each side – maybe 30 seconds – until it’s brown in spots and puffed up a little.  Once both sides have been cooked, put the tortilla on a warm plate and cover with foil.

IMG_0726

Once you finish cooking the tortillas it’s time to cook your eggs.  I like to fry mine for this dish, but you could poach or scramble instead if that’s your thing.

IMG_0725

Now assemble by placing two tortilla on a plate, add the eggs and then guacamole, beans, extra salsa and extra sour cream.

IMG_0724

If you feel fancy you could sprinkle more coriander over the top.

As promised…here’s that photo of the eyeball soup cake I made for Halloween.

IMG_0747

Leave a Reply

